HOWTO: Play WiiWare & VC games via uLoader

These pages are no longer supported.

I recommend Complete Softmod Guide for Wii resources.

For specific details regarding uloader visit the official wiki page (needs to be translated from Spanish, The google chrome web browser offers superb translation tools built in.)

37 Responses to HOWTO: Play WiiWare & VC games via uLoader

  1. Anon says:

    Nice, any chance you can do a little bit about getting dlc wads to work with uloader?

    Also 4.9a is out, and with regards to the wiiware/vc emulation seems to be the most stable yet.

    • adewii says:

      I will be looking into doing a guide for that yes, I just haven’t got round to trying it myself yet either. Very busy with other thing’s at the moment.

      Jeesh, I made sure 4.8A was still the latest when I updated the guides, he must have updated it within hours of me updating. lol.

  2. Anon says:

    Also that “bug” isn’t a bug, from the wiiware/vc just click the “1” button on the top left of the screen to go back to the wbfs.

    • adewii says:

      I spent ages trying to work that out, I don’t know if it’s because the 1 isn’t there in 4.8A, I will certainly attempt to get everything updated to 4.9B tonight.

      • Anon says:

        Now that I think about it my situation may be different. I’m using a HDD with 2 partitions, wbfs and fat, but I don’t think that should make a difference since all the wiiware games from the usb/sd card get lumped onto the same screen when you click FAT. I downgraded to 4.8a to take a look and the “1” is there too. Took me ages to find it 😛

  3. Steve says:

    So I followed your guide and have updated uloader and the required ios files (normally I use configurable usb loader). When I try to load the games off of my sd card I see the disc spinning on the screen and it will usually play the nintendo disc menu jingle then do nothing. My slot is illuminated and when I press and hold the power button to reboot my slot will blink then power down. It does this for all the wads I try to load. Do I need to uninstall the previous wad’s, then reinstall using the versions you provide? What possibly could be the problem?

    • Steve says:

      I have an update: I cannot play any VC or WiiWare using Cios 222, only 223. I have to go an set it to use 223 on first run but after that the games run fine. Odd that they won’t work on 222?

      • Anon says:

        This happened to me as well, but when I upgraded to 4.9a 222 started working perfectly. At the moment you can only get 4.9a by updating uloader via the internet of the wii.

      • Steve says:

        I did try updating to 4.9a via the webupdate in uloader and I still have the same problem.

      • adewii says:

        ah! I will need to look into this one, in the meantime it could be worth filing the bug report with hermes direct, follow the link to the uloader thread on the right of the page, however the page is in spanish!!

      • adewii says:

        Odd, it worked fine for me, upgrade to 4.9A it sounds like this will resolve the issue.

    • adewii says:

      Sounds like you have done everything right, it might be worth formatting the sd card and then copying everything back.

  4. Anon says:

    Ah well, at least they work 😉

  5. anony says:

    everytime i try to load games, i get ES_identify error, any tips?

    • adewii says:

      this is with a clean nand folder? Not from an existing nand dump?

    • Nate S. says:

      I’ve seen the same error…I tried using Mega Man 10 WAD to test out this feature, and received an ES_Identify error when trying to start the game. This was the first time I’d ever used the NAND emulation, so folder was clean, no NAND dump.

      • Nate S. says:

        Update – Originally, I was trying to use Hermes cIOS v4 – 222 and getting the ES_Identify error. After upgrading to Hermes v5, and running the WAD titles under 224, everything seems to work properly.

      • adewii says:

        Have you updated to the latest cIOS 222,223,224?

  6. Joe says:

    Hi,

    Do you know anything yet about the new DLC support for GH5? Is it supposed to let you keep all your songs on your usb drive instead of sd cards?

    And thanks for all your other guides, they have been very helpful! 🙂

  7. r0ni says:

    I’m finding that most games work but there seems to be a issue loading them. If you load a game on iso 222, the next game you load should be using ios 223. You can go back and forth between 222 and 223 and all the games will load. But if you use the same ios twice, you will get a black screen. At least, that’s how it’s working out for me.

  8. FluxAugur says:

    So what if we have a WBFS formatted drive that we want to install our wads onto? I’ve noticed the install channel feature in WBFS, but unfortunately, there is no help on their website. Any suggestions?

    • adewii says:

      Download uLoader from the official site, there is a stack of documentation in the rar file.

  9. sneeze says:

    Is there a maximum of wad games, uLoader can handle in the FAT32 partition ?

  10. Michael says:

    I keep getting a message that the data files are corrupted every time I try to load a vc/wiiware game. Either that happens or the screen remains black indefinitely. What’s wrong with it?

    • adewii says:

      Might be better to start again, put the newest games on the SD first, and the older games last if possible. This will help resolve some incompatibilty issues.

      • Michael says:

        What do you mean by “newest” and “older”? By newest, do you mean games that I don’t already have on my Wii or games that were recently released? The games I’m adding I don’t have yet.

        All I’m doing is putting the WADs of the games into the install folder. I also have version 4.9B, so am I missing a step?

      • adewii says:

        Newest = latest releases.

      • Michael says:

        Also, uloader always says the games are 0.00 gigabytes and I’m not sure why.

      • adewii says:

        Are you using a mac or linux? ensure it isn’t putting a hidden ./ folder in the same folder as the wads. This can cause problems.

  11. IcoFilho says:

    Hello! I`m having the exact same problem that Micheal did.
    Strange thing is that the first game I`ve installed worked fine, and the next day it gave me the corrupted files message to this same game… and new ones won`t work either.

    Any news???

    • Michael says:

      Changing the cIOS of the game did the trick for me. However, I’m still having trouble installed WiiWare games because when they supposedly install, they don’t appear in uLoader. VC games have worked for me, however.

      • IcoFilho says:

        I`ve tried to change the cIOS to 223 or 224, but then all I get is the black screen…
        Sometimes (I really don`t get it…) when I set back the cIOS to 222, after trying 223 or 224, it works…
        But nothing worked (Wiiware or VC) in 223 or 224.

  12. nodiaque says:

    Something is weird. I’ve put all the wad I want it to install onto my fat partition in the install folder. There was 5. Rebooted, it installed it. Then, I get ’bout 200 wads in the same folder, it start, doesn’t even scan the folder. I though maybe too much. I put 5 in it, reboot, doesn’t work.

    using uloader 5, hermes v5

  13. MrRochie says:

    Greets Dudes… I got a question & problem.. I have been using configurable USB loader and other Wii goodies for quite some time now so I’ve been around the Wii scene for a while. I tried to use Uloader for the first time today to load my Wiiware games off my sd card but I get errors when starting a WiiWare game. I created the nand and install folders per instructions and I installed 4 WiiWare wads just to test. It took a while for them to copy to the nand folder but they all seemed to load ok… When I start to load “adventure island the beginning” I get error.alt dol not found then the wii reboots … ideas?? I am using a 8gb sd card and WBFS formated HD for the USB configurable loader.. The other three games worked ok… I guessing I can’t get these WiiWare games to load off the wbfs HD can I??.. That would be sweet… Thanks Guys

  14. Rock_Strongo says:

    Hi,
    I have uloader 4.9c and am using system v4.1u. For some reason uloader plays backup discs just fine but it won’t install any of the wiiware or vc games off my SD card. I have all the wads in an install folder within a nand folder which is on the root of my SD. When I run uloader nothing happens. If I read correctly it is just supposed to detect the files and start installing right? Everything is there but when I run uloader nothing happens. There is no usb device attached to the system and no disc inserted.

