HOWTO: Play Gamecube games from blank DVD discs on Nintendo Wii

These pages are no longer supported.

I recommend Complete Softmod Guide for Wii resources.

For specific details regarding uloader visit the official wiki page (needs to be translated from Spanish, The google chrome web browser offers superb translation tools built in.)

21 Responses to HOWTO: Play Gamecube games from blank DVD discs on Nintendo Wii

  1. Gamerlol says:

    I followed all the steps and ‘IOS249’ could not be found in the Wad Manager list =(

    I have a 4.1 usa wii that supports BootMii Boot 2

  2. Lisa says:

    Awesome tut! works perfectly Thanks:0)

  3. Nick says:

    whenever I try to load a gc backup…my wii restarts and goes back to bootmii…any ideas whats going on?

    • adewii says:

      Are you using cIOS249 rev 15? It doesn’t work with gamecube loaders. Go back down to version 14.

      • Jake Steel says:

        I am using cIOS249-v14 in my wad folder on my SD card. I’m trying to run a game on a mini DVD-R but when I start the backup loader, The screen freezes on me. What do I do?

      • adewii says:

        Have you installed the wad?

      • Jake Steel says:

        if you’re responding to the message on Feb 20, then yes, I figured that out, it’s working now. But I’m using IOS249 rev 14, and when I turn on the game cube backup launcher it still resets to Wii menu.

  4. Jake Steel says:

    I’ve ran the MIOS Patcher and let the patch be completed, but when I go back to the Homebrew Channel, the Wad Manager isn’t there.

    • Jake Steel says:

      heh, don’t bother answering that. I’ve got the Wad manager from the other tutorial you’ve got. Thank you Very much!!! 😀

      Does the Gamecube backup launcher load DVD+R or DVD+RW

  5. Cross says:

    Does it have to be an original gamecube controller, or can it be one of those white wii controllers that look like a gamecube controller?

    • adewii says:

      It needs to be a gamecube controller that plugs directly into the gamecube ports on the wii. they don’t need to be official ones. I think your talking about the virtual console pad which clips into the wii remote. That will not work.

  6. Rory says:

    I managed to get everything to install just fine, but when I go to load a gamecube disc I burnt, it always says DVD Error -1. I checked the common error page, didn’t find it there. Could it be that uLoader doesn’t support multi-game isos?

    • adewii says:

      You need to use a gamecube launcher for gamecube games, uloader doesn’t support them.

      • Rory says:

        Okay, I tried installing the Gamecube one, but when I try to install the wad, it always gives me an error.

        I’ve checked the list, it said something about “Uninstall cIOS37 and replace with latest cIOS38 (249).” I would do this, but I am unsure as to HOW I would do this.

      • adewii says:

        Download the 4.2 guide from the homepage and install the wad files again. If you still get errors your IOS38 is not trucha patched, in which case follow the guide from the very beginning again.

      • Rory says:

        Okay, I tried to run the MIOS Patcher and it gave me an error -1017. I don’t know what is causing the issue. I’ve even formatted the system mem, started over but still got the same damn error. Any suggestions?

      • adewii says:

        Try re-downloading the pack, the wad file could be corrupt.

      • Rory says:

        I’ve downloaded the pack multiple times, it still errors.

  7. Ozl says:

    Guys just use Cioscorp and install the extras to enable gamecube backup loading from Disc Channel…
    Good day!

