HOWTO: uLoader basics. Including parental controls.

These pages are no longer supported.

I recommend Complete Softmod Guide for Wii resources.

For specific details regarding uloader visit the official wiki page (needs to be translated from Spanish, The google chrome web browser offers superb translation tools built in.)

69 Responses to HOWTO: uLoader basics. Including parental controls.

  1. aaron says:

    hi mate aaron again is there anyway to add iso’s
    to my external hard drive other than having to load it in via the wii drive to save it
    thanks aaron

  2. Kevin says:

    The options “Add Png Bitmap” and “Delete Png Bitmap” are not available for me. I’m not sure how to enable them. Everything else works fine but I would like to be able to see the game covers in the list.

  3. Kevin says:

    Also my games keep freezing after about a minute. Did some research and found it may be due to the HD sleep mode? Any advice on how to stop this?

  4. Kevin says:

    Managed to figure out the problem with the png bitmaps :)
    And the games seem to load and play fine through Neogamma’s WBFS option, so I’m using that.

    Thanks for all these great tutorials! I will be sharing the info!

    • adewii says:

      Apologies for late reply, currently moving house and don’t have the Internet in new home yet. Glad you managed to find away around things.

  5. buckeyesfan says:

    having same problem with png bitmaps not enabled. How do you enable this function. Otherwise, all is working great, thanks for your perfect tutorials. Keep up the good work!!!!!

  6. Mutiny1 says:

    I am making the switch from USB Loader GX to uLoader, I already have the cover art and figured out how to add the PNG art 1 title at a time. How can I make uLoader see all my existing PNGs are I guess another question. Where do I put my existing PNG so uLoader will read them.

    • adewii says:

      You can put them anywhere on your SD and tell uLoader to look in that directory. It’s much easier to get uLoader to automatically download them from the net.

  7. ernesto says:

    first please sorry by my bad english
    I have a problem with my wii. I downloaded all official nintendo updates since I bought my wii (2006) until 4.1u and then I started to install homebrew channel with bannerbomb, 3 moths ago. I can use all hombrews, and backups games, I don´t have problems when I play wii backups with usb loaders or dvd with neogama or other launchers. My problem is when I want to go to wii menu. When I press the home button, press Wii Menu, and then press OK, the screen goes black and it doesn’t go back to the Wii Menu. The screen just stays black. This only happens with some games (not all games). I have cios 249 rev 14 (waninkoko) cios 222, 223 y 203 (hermes) I downgrade to 3.2 and the problem continues, then I update (with waninkoko updater) to 4.1u again and problem continues, I think that this problem brought about the update of nintendo that I downloaded before I install bannerbomb and homebrew channel. How can I fix this, help me please (e.sgs@hotmail.com)

    • adewii says:

      Sorry, weird one. Have no idea how to fix that one. It might be worth posting on gbatemp.net and see if the boffins there have come across this before.

  8. Chris says:

    Me again, do I need to make my wii region free on my 3.1 system to be able to play NTSC games as I’ve got some that I couldn’t find on pal or can uloader do this. Previously I have used wii brick blocker and wiu to patch NTSC to pal then burn onto discs. One other thing, should I ever upgrade from 3.1e to 4.1 or 4.2?thanks yet again!

    • adewii says:

      uLoader will play any region games. You’ll only ever be able to upgrade to 4.2, unless there is an offline method for upgrading to 4.1 which I don’t currently know about, however I’ll look into it. In reality, unless there is a game which actually requires the system menu you won’t need to upgrade. I think the only games which may moan are the ones which use Wii Motion Plus. Which is only Wii Sports Resort at the moment, you can still play Grand Slam Tennis and Tiger Wood sfor example without the accessory.

  9. Hacknsack says:

    Hello,
    Are there alternative sites to get the missing PNGs instead of trying to resize it? Thanks for your help, you are the wii guru.

    • adewii says:

      uLoader should be able to download them automatically if you press + on the add PNG screen if your Wii is connected to the net.

  10. Hacknsack says:

    Hacknsack Says:

    November 11, 2009 at 8:14 pm | Reply
    Hello,
    Are there alternative sites to get the missing PNGs instead of trying to resize it? Thanks for your help, you are the wii guru.

    adewii Says:

    November 12, 2009 at 3:54 pm | Reply
    uLoader should be able to download them automatically if you press + on the add PNG screen if your Wii is connected to the net.

    **** I do that as soon as I back up the game but there are a handfull of titles that I am unable to get PNGs for like, Dirt 2, Press Your Luck, NFS Montreal, and Drawn To Life: Next Chapter plus many others. Do you know if their database is updated with new or less popular titles? I have been using the Net and Nero Photo editor to create my own but they are a pain. Any other suggestions?

    Again thank you for all your help and blog.
    Cheers

    • adewii says:

      Strange, I’ve never had any issues with it getting PNGS ever. It uses an online site for it’s source of game covers. It’s probably better to use one of these sites (do a google search, there are loads) and you can probably download it in PNG format from one of them at the correct size straight off.

  11. graham says:

    can the uloader and the usb loader gx both be installed or just choose one .i’m using the gx but uloader looks better with more funtionality.comments any one?

  12. SK says:

    Ade,
    The WBFS manager is not loading my usb portable hdd. It seems to work fine on the Wii. Setup – System 4.2, toshiba 500gb usb hdd, and wbfs manager 2.5. I copied the wii sports directly from the dvd disk to the hdd w/o a problem. When trying to load in wbfs mgr, I get “Error occurred while loading drive. Make sure the drive is not in use or open and that is formatted to WBFS Format”. As far as I can tell, no program is using it. They can’t since it is in wbfs format. Any suggestions?

    Thanks

  13. Wewe says:

    had the cios 249, and backup launcher which did not work for me so figured i’d give this method a shot…

    installed cios 202, 222, and 223 as directed and have uloader up and running ok for games off the usb drive.. when i try load a dvd though it says error -2. is there any info on what the problem may be?

    (wii 4.1e version)

  14. Gaf the Horse says:

    How do you turn the background music off?? It’s driving me mad!!

  15. 2legit2optionQ says:

    Any iso I’ve legally downloaded for games I own seem to generate an error 3 message when I move them to my usb drive via WBFS.

    What is error 3?

    Any help?

    • adewii says:

      Error 3 is reported on your Wii or your PC? You didn’t make that clear.

      • sortamodedWii says:

        I think this is the same issue I have. I ran through the tutorials (nice work btw) and did the updates etc used WBFS to transfer some games to a USD stick without issue.
        I try to run the games from the USB, but after selected (within ULoader) they will generate an error message “Error from the loader: 3″ and blank the screen.

        any ideas?? (

      • adewii says:

        I’ve not come across this before. I will have to research.

  16. Buddha says:

    Sorry to ask but once you have softmod the Wii can you play NTSC on a PAL system?

    just want to know if possable.

    Thanks for any help bud.

    Also whats the best usb loader at the moment that can run on 4.2e Wii would like the loader on the page but we have to wait for it..

  17. Rob says:

    Thank you so much for the wealth of knowledge you have given us, uloader is great and has been a godsend from the problems I was coming into contact with, with other loaders

  18. sam g says:

    Hi Ade

    Im having trouble adding covers.

    A few of the games ive downloaded cannot find covers on the net through your app. Guilty Gear xx AC, HOTD overkill, Another code R.

    I have added a folder on SD card called covers but it is not recognising them. They are saved in the PNG format.

    Any ideas mate?

  19. sam g says:

    I resolved the issue by going to wiicovers.

  20. ackryte says:

    Thanks for this post it saved me time! Now its time to get off my wii butt and get wii fit!

  21. holly says:

    Hi have achieved success modding my wii only thanks to your plain english guide thanks soooo much for the time. I have a wii with one of the DV3 drives so have had to use USB loader. I can’t seem to find out if there is a way of playing movies via this route and if so how..

  22. Robby says:

    Whats the best way to hook up my Wii system with a plasma television? Are the packed cables budget low quality ones?

  23. Tom says:

    Hi Adrwii, First, Thanks SO much for easy to follow guides. I cant download png bitmap anymore..add and delete png bitmap is “grayed out”…any ideas? I updated online so I am connected to the internet.
    Thanks Again

    • adewii says:

      Are you hovered over the game, It could be it’s disabled in 3.8A, I am yet to document the features of uLoader 3.8A, I will hopefully have it done by the end of the weekend.

  24. what is the best tool for parental control?

  25. martynwii says:

    Hi, I am new to all of this but have managed to get me Black WII modified and have uloader 3.3. I have just managed to update to uloader 4.5b. But i have a problem with the parental controls. They are on and I am unable to turn them off. If I press home, the pin entry system pops up. I have tried 00000 but it just beeps and goes back to the game screen. All options like add game, download png’s, fix parental controls etc are greyed out. How can I reset the PIN or remove it? thanks

    • adewii says:

      Was the parental controls enabled before you did the upgrade?

      • martynwii says:

        the WII parental controls were not set, the first time I went to use uloader and clicked on a game, it came up with the parental control pin entry screen, I have tried the web default of 00000 but to no avail. the WII parental controls are still off.
        All options viw the uloader channel are greyed out apart from the two return options.

      • adewii says:

        Odd, the only thing I can think off is that the games had a parental control lock on them in the first place? Did you download them from the net, borrow them off a friend?

      • martynwii says:

        sorry, yes the parental controls were on, when i was using 3.3. They seemed to have been on when I first moded my wii. I have never set them at all.

  26. martynwii says:

    A friend soft moded my wii, and copied some games onto a new hard drive I left him. I have added some games to it, that I donwloaded. When I launch uloader they show up without a bitmap. None of the origianl copies games appear to be parental locked. Do you know if a way to delete the pin code completely or reset it to 00000. thanks for your efforts.

    • adewii says:

      I’ve been looking into it and I can’t find anything anywhere on how this could happen unless there was something that’s been put into the ISO file previously. If newer games you add to the drive work fine then that would indicate it is the ISO files of the older games already had some form of parental control on them. If that’s the case, re-dwnload them or get your friend to turn off the parental controls before copying the games from his drive.

  27. martynwii says:

    Yes I think you have got it. I got a USB stick and put a game on it I have downloaded, put it in the WII and everything works O.K. I’ll try WBFSManager to extract all the games from the drive. Reformat it, and just put on the games I have downloaded. I’ll check it in the WII to see if all is O.K. (I think it will be), then I’ll try putting some of the games back on again, if that then fails, I try to download the games the kids really want. Thanks very much for your help, your a star.

    Cheers, a very happy WII user.

    • adewii says:

      One other thing that has come to my mind is you could try deleting the uloader.cfg file from your USB drive. Although I am not sure that will even fix it, I think the problem is uLoader writes the information to the game file itself. (I’ve formatted previously myself and it’s remembered all the settings I’ve put in for a game even when I put them back but I am not sure if that is also the case for parental controls, I would assume they are in the cfg file) If that is the case you may have to re-download the games that have all of a sudden decided they have parental controls.

      • martynwii says:

        Adewii, your are the man. I deleted the uloader.cfg file using WBFSManager, and everything now works, I’v managed to download all the ong images for the games I added to the drive, and even did a uloader update to 4.9b. Glad I re-checked my email, as you have just saved me hours of work, thankyou, thankyou.

  28. Monkeyji says:

    Hey Ade! First off BIG THANKS!!! for your site and your help. You have made it all so easy to understand and you let us know what were doing more than other sites. So thanks for being a Master Teacher.
    Secondly, I’ve got uloader up and running now, and I found out how to use it to download the pngs but after it downloads it just goes back to the uloader screen and all the boxes are still fuzzy. I only have 5 games on right now, but they are popular titles (Red Steel, Resident Evil, Final Fantasy) is there another step after downloading in order to get the pictures to show up?

  29. Matt says:

    I wanted to put some backups on a 1tb drive but its already got quite a lot of data on it already, is it possible to make a parition of a set size using a windows app rather than let uloader reformat the whole lot? Curreltny its formateed as NTFS if that makes a difference. I guess i could set a 100GB partition as fat32 and hope it only sees and uses that but i don’t want to risk loosing all my data.

  30. LALAL says:

    hi…thanks for the post.. i have a problem… i added original games to uloader but i cant load them because of some of the configurations…I need somebodies help please..

  31. LALAL says:

    hi, it´s me again. my problem is that i copied original games to mi hdd, the games load but the dont play, when i put load the screen gets black and then it doesnt advance…help please

    • adewii says:

      The famous black screen error. I would recommend you attempt to install the cIOS wad files again. This problem is a known problem but solving it is difficult.

  32. killingjoke says:

    is it possible to back up your gamecube games aswell with uloader and load them from a harddrive?

  33. Usualwill says:

    Can’t get Dragon Hunter Tri PAL to load off USB Drive – game freezes? Anyone got a solution please?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

