HOWTO: Install Backup Launcher and play Wii games direct from blank DVDs

These pages are no longer supported.

I recommend Complete Softmod Guide for Wii resources.

For specific details regarding uloader visit the official wiki page (needs to be translated from Spanish, The google chrome web browser offers superb translation tools built in.)

21 Responses to HOWTO: Install Backup Launcher and play Wii games direct from blank DVDs

  1. jaydotbird says:

    Quick question, will PAL ISO’s play using backup launcher on my NTSC Wii (4.1U)? Thanks

  2. jaydotbird says:

    PAL came loads and plays but the language is all french! Any suggestions on how I can get it to english? Thanks

    • adewii says:

      If you hold down 1 when loading the game from the backup launcher channel there should be an option to change default language. It’s possible you’ve downloaded the French PAL version so that’s why it’s defaulting to French.

  3. Koen says:

    Hi,

    After all has been succesfull (for which I consider you a god !), is it OK to reactivate the “WiiConnect24” ?

    Thx
    Koen

  4. Ultimate Wii says:

    Thanks for this great tutorial.

  5. marc says:

    Hi! i’m wondering if it does work with the 4.1u update?

  6. Stephanie says:

    Hi! Love your tutorials. But i have a problem. I tried to install the NEOR7.wad file on my 4.1U wii, but i keep getting the error:

    >>Installing ticket…ERROR! (ret = -2011)

    What can i do to fix this??
    I also dont understand when you say “When it opens choose use IOS249” i do not get to choose that anywhere.
    Thanks for the help

    • Stephanie says:

      Nevermind, I used your other tutorial to set my wii up for a backuplauncher.

      These tutorials are by far the best and easiest i have seen.
      Thanks again

  7. cool says:

    Hi, I am using PAL (Eur) with drivekey in it. Can this work for me. Thanks in adv..

  8. cool says:

    Jus forgot to mention…I am on 4.1E ver

  9. xfaktor says:

    The best tutorial is here! Thx adewii it worked 100% in 4.1E 🙂

  10. Adam says:

    Thanks for the great guides. I am sure many people like myself appreciate them.

    I am running system menu 4.0E. When I run my backup game through the backup launcher I get the error “DVD read error 324” The game disks I am using work on another Wii but not on mine. I must also add that USB loaderGX has no problems and games load fine from HDD.

    So, what am I doing wrong and how can I get the backup launcher to work.

    Thanks

    • adewii says:

      Have you installed DVDx as part of the Homebrew Channel installer? It’s required for your Wii to read blank discs.

  11. Chuck says:

    Hi, these tutorials look great and I cant wait to try them when I get home…question though, my Wii is running 4.1 and has serial LU3868xxxxx. I remember you saying that might not work..should I worry?

  12. Chuck says:

    Great thanks…one more before I start..if I dont have another SD card can I simply do this: put HBC and everything else I need on the card, then when it comes itme to backup, do the backup then dump the files to a folder on my pc,saving them until I ever need them…that way I can keep the HBC info on it..or will backing up erase what is on the card, meaning the HBC info etc? Thnaks….basically, is there a way to do this wiht one card? I do have a micro sd card in my cell I could use if i had to..Thanks again!!!

