HOWTO: Loading an alternative.dol with uLoader 2.6 or higher (Metroid Prime Trilogy, Wii Sports Resort, Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 etc)

These pages are no longer supported.

I recommend Complete Softmod Guide for Wii resources.

For specific details regarding uloader visit the official wiki page (needs to be translated from Spanish, The google chrome web browser offers superb translation tools built in.)

43 Responses to HOWTO: Loading an alternative.dol with uLoader 2.6 or higher (Metroid Prime Trilogy, Wii Sports Resort, Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 etc)

  1. […] not need these setting’s changed. However if a game does need an alternative dol, refer to this guide. The backup launcher compatbility matrix at gbatemp will also contain useful information if you […]

    • Thaprofound says:

      Hi,
      I have Hermes uLoader v3.2. I have tried the alt dol. for Wii Resort and even after watching the Motion Plus video and then deleting the alt dol. I still get the green screen. I am new to the modding and things, but I am not that computer illiterate. I know this is fairly old, but I am having problems and just wishing to correct it as uLoader is a gift to my sisters for Christmas and I’m trying to load this 300GB HD with as many games as possible.

  2. Gangxsta says:

    Wait a minute, I want to play my backup of red steel and aparently this way works but i dont have a ext Hard Drive

  3. minorthreat says:

    Hi mate, love your guides!

    Have you had any luck with new super mario bros. with an alternative dol?

  4. minorthreat says:

    I got an alternative dol, but when I search for it, uLoader doesn’t find anything. I put it in the root of the SD card, is this wrong?

  5. minorthreat says:

    cheers mate I got it working, forgot to say thanks. Big thanks though and keep up the brilliant work with this site, it’s a massive help

  6. chip510 says:

    you are the best i have 150 games and they all work …i’m happy! thnx you

  7. Luis says:

    For wii sports resort, do i need to enable and disable the Alt Dol every time i want to play?

    • adewii says:

      Just the once in order to create a save game file, once the save game file is created you can turn it off.

  8. Simon says:

    Hi, great site and instructions, got my Wii softmodded because of you!!

    I’m loading games from CD to the USB no problem, but when i try to run some of the games i get a black screen. I have looked into the “find alternative .dol” but when Uloader tries it crashes with a boot dump and a screaching noise?

    what have i missed? the games run fine from CD but wont run when transfered to the USB drive.

    Thanks

  9. jesper says:

    Hi, I have the original Sports Resort disc, however, the disc is european and my system was bought in the US.

    Everything works up until actually launching the game (ie, the instruction video plays), but when I delete the alt dol and try to load it, the screen goes black and I have to restart the system. I’m using cIOS 222(38)-v4.wad and uLoader 3.6a.

    Any ideas?

    • adewii says:

      Are you on sys menu 4.2? 4.2 introduced some extra protection with regional discs. Have you installed priiloader? You can try enabling the disc region check hack in Priiloader which may allow you to load the game.

  10. Sam G says:

    Ive managed to run wiisports resort ok on a 4.2e system. Ripped from my copy. Im running Uloader4.

    I have 2 questions

    1. Do I need IOS249 as I have 222 and 223 and everything is working. 30 games so far. I dont believe I do but please confirm.

    2. Where do I get these alternative dol files from if need be. The net?. Do I save them to the SDcard in a folder. Or are thay already on the disks/iso’s themselves.

    • adewii says:

      For uLoader, no you don’t need it, however it’s useful to keep for loading additional wads etc or following other guides which may expect you to have 249 installed, but yes you are correct for uLoader itself, you don’t need it.

      the alt dols are already on the iso.

  11. Kevin says:

    So I have actually gone thro and redone your entire 4.2 setup. Everything works great except for wii sports resort. I am using your software package as of today. wii 4.2U uloader 4.1, I load all my games from an external HDD that i manage with WBFS manager 3.1. I followed the guide for the wii sports resort perfectly, watched the video, and the game still won’t load…

    Sidenote: rockband usb controllers don’t register either..

    • adewii says:

      Is there a saved game for wii sports resort in the save games data? the game will not launch correctly until a save game data is created.

      The only rockband controller that is supported via usb is the microphone!

      • Kevin says:

        No I can’t find a saved game, but I thought that was created once you watched the 3min wiimote condom vid?! lol.

        As for running Rockband from a HDD w/ uloader, I can’t seem to find info on this but I don’t want to clutter your comments so if you have a link to anything on the matter that’d be awesome!

      • adewii says:

        It should yes.

        As for Rockband, did you install the cIOS222 wad as detailed in the guide, ensure it is running from that IOS in the settings, if it still fails, try changing it to 223 instead.

      • Kevin says:

        I did watch the video. If I load the game with the alternate .dol it shows a menu of the different parts of the video that I can choose to watch or it offers to return to game. Clicking on return to game returns me to the wii menu. Loading after deleting the .dol does nothing just eternal darkness.

        For rockband will running off cios222 or cios223 allow the other usb instruments to work? or is there currently no way to do such?

      • adewii says:

        Sounds like you have done everything right so I am not sure why it is not working. Is this from Disc or USB?

        Whatever you plug into the other USB port should work.

      • Kevin says:

        Could the WSpR problem be the iso? I run everything off a usb HDD using WBFS manager.

        For rockband, earlier you posted that only the mic works, and then you just said that any usb thing should work? i’m confused…lol.

      • adewii says:

        If I am honest, I have no idea what the problem is, when your running from the dol it’s as if you already have a game save because it’s giving you the option of what video to watch instead of forcing you to watch them.

        I don’t own rockband, I assumed the only USB device was the microphone like with Guitar Hero, Others report that running Rockband of cIOS223 works. So I suggest you try it.

      • kevin says:

        What if I got my hands on a blank sports resort save file and dropped it in…. if I had any money at all I would’ve already bought the game, lol.

      • adewii says:

        Probably won’t work, because the game save needs to be there in the first place in order to copy another one across.

  12. Adelline says:

    Hey , I have 4.2e softmoded (started from 0 – 3 times , to make sure I do not do something bad). Errors i have :
    – if i put a burned DVD – code error -2
    – if I put a drive with multiple games … they just don’t load ( black screen when i press load game)
    – if i go and try to do uLoader update it says update.txt is missing
    – if i want to choose an alternate dol i just have a blank list

    From where does uloader gets it’s dols? 🙂 Thank you in advance

    • adewii says:

      1. Is your Wii a new edition? If so it won’t read blank dvds. If otherwise ensure your using DVD-R and that the ISOs your downloading have not been modified to run of cios249.
      2. Do an offline update if you are getting this error
      3. it gets the list from the game itself, if the game doesn’t need an alt dol to load then it won’t find one.
      4. black screen is a random error for which there is currently not a known fix.

  13. mintster says:

    I have updated Uloader (channel) using the online option and it has updated to version 4.8a although you currently only document 4.5b – is this correct?

    • adewii says:

      Yes this is the latst and greatest version yet. I will hopefulyl be documenting the new improvements over the weekend.

