HOWTO: Install The Homebrew Channel,DVDX & Bootmii

These pages are no longer supported.

I recommend Complete Softmod Guide for Wii resources.

For specific details regarding uloader visit the official wiki page (needs to be translated from Spanish, The google chrome web browser offers superb translation tools built in.)

23 Responses to HOWTO: Install The Homebrew Channel,DVDX & Bootmii

  1. boggled101 says:

    Hi, I have windows XP, which WBFS version is best,2.5 or 3.0? and how do you find out about the 32bit and 64bit thing?
    cheers

    • adewii says:

      3.0 is the latest version, if you right click my computer in windows and choose properties it will tell you what version of windows yours is. 32bit or 64. If your not sure it will more than likely be 32bit. Mo, I will reply to your email in further detail later.

  2. Usualwill says:

    Do you have to update your Wii whenever the WadManager, Bootmii config editor and Homebrew browser are updated and if you do do you just follow the installation instructions above as if its a fresh install? I saw the uloader guide which is fine but I wasn’t sure about these apps? Thanks

    • adewii says:

      No, just download the files for the apps in question, and overwrite the folders in the apps folder on your SD card for the apps yo want to update. That’s all you need to do to upgrade the actual apps.

  3. Steve says:

    Hey man I got a question, I followed all of your instructions step by step, it seems like I tried everything to play backup discs on my Wii, I tried DVD+R and DVD-R and got error codes or no discs codes. I even downgraded my wii firmware from 4.1 to 3.1 as instructed by other websites. Can you please respond to me ASAP and tel me what I might be doing wrong. It would greatly be appreciated, I’ve never really comented on someones page before so if you could please get back to me at graveyard68626@yahoo.com thank you very much.

    • adewii says:

      Sorry, I don’t do support via email, I am quite busy with work at the moment so my time is limited anyway in terms of offering support. If you post what error codes you are receiving then others maybe able to help as well. Or check out the forums at Yafaze or GBATemp where more people will be able to offer you support and probably much quicker than myself, however by all means post your error codes and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

  4. Steve says:

    Hey it’s me again, I re-downloaded everything from step 1 to finish. All I get now is a “error no disc” reading. As far as backing up the disc, I used “Image burn” and at the end of the burn it did a “load successfully sound”. Is there a different free burn site I should use?

  5. Steve says:

    I found a good site to get my torrents from and I’m using “UTorrent” to download them. But when it finally completes I need a better file to put them to my image burn. I was using a different site but my free trial ran out. Basically can you give me a link to the basics to use as far as putting my torrents on a disc? The reason I ask is because I tried to put my game on image burn to run at 1X speed and I couldn’t get it on a disc, I think its because that free trial ran out, what do you think? I’m still new to all of this so bare with me

  6. Steve says:

    Hey nevermind that last comment I wrote, I got my ISO burner to work!! I tried speeds “1X, 2X, and 2.4X, 3X and 4X” and still got “no disc” reading. I didn’t know if I should go any higher plus I am also running low on blank DVD-R discs. Should I just resort to using a USB flash drive? Will that work with uLoader? I stil have the uLoader channel on my Wii, is there anything else I would have to buy or use to run that, if so, what? If I do need to get a USB flash drive, how many GB’s would you suggest to get? Thanks for your time.

    • adewii says:

      Strange, have you downloaded more than one game to ensure it’s not a bad ISO file you’ve downloaded? Other than trying another type of DVD-R media, I am at a loss. The USB drive may be the route to take. Just follow the guides for installing and how to use uLoader. The only other additional equipment you would require would be the drive and the WBFS Manager software for your PC. A drive of around 250GB should be more than enough for holding in excess of 50+ games on one drive.

  7. Steve says:

    Hey, it’s me again. Is there ANY way to bypass “Iso-burn” and go straight to “Image-burn”? Any time I download iso’s, it takes me to the “Iso-burn” page and tells me that my free trial has expired, that’s fine with me, I’d rather use “Image-burn” anyway. I deleted the “Iso-burn” program from my pc (add and remove programs) but it keeps coming back when I have a game iso, ready to copy. Please help… thanks.

  8. Steve says:

    Ok, so I got that link going that you suggested and before I could burn the iso it said I needed a “DVD 7.41 GB” disc to copy it to. I have “DVD-R 4.7 GB” that I got at Wal-mart, I called places like Best Buy and they said a 5 pack of the 8 GB discs are $15-$20, that sucks. I don’t really have that kind of money to mess around with just for 5 discs, is that really what I need to get? Thanks.

    • adewii says:

      What game are you trying to burn? If it’s Super Smash Bros or Metroid Prime Trilogy, then yes, they are dual layer disc games. There is a torrent about of a Super Smash Bros that will fit onto a 4.7GB disc, and possibly even a version of Metroid Prime Trilogy as well. Just make sure before you download them that they are the 4.7GB versions.

  9. Greg says:

    Hi
    Just trying this guide on LEH28***/4.0E and after I start boot.eft – freeze . I see only same screen like in 3:0o on your movie … no more
    Help please

  10. tae9214 says:

    wat if we already have the homebrew channel

  11. Steve says:

    Do you know how to get the N64 emulator going on the HBC? I got most of the other emulators going but I keep getting an “error has occured” message when I try to load a rom. Do you have any links or anything that could help me out? Thanks.

    • adewii says:

      The N64 emulator is in it’s early days still at the moment. Alot of the ROMs still don’t work. It’s probably better waiting for the emulator to mature a little first.

  12. Bobbus74 says:

    Thanks for the easy to follow guide mate, made it much simpler to follow.
    Already had THC and DVDx installed but wanted to install BootMii just in case I ever get a brick.
    I updated to 4.1 the other day not knowing that it removed the ability to install WAD files. So now I’m going to try and downgrade, that’s why I wanted the BootMii installed first.
    Wish me luck…

  13. Shlomi says:

    look at http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901 to do all the cool stuff (;-)) on 4.2 virgin wii.

    • adewii says:

      Yes am aware of the 4.2 methods now. Awaiting the scene to calm down a bit as everyone is updating their apps before doing a final draft for those on 4.2. FOr those who can’t wait, follow the guide in the link above. My guides will follow the same methods but with a few more tweaks.

